Hindu leader condemns Wrigley candies made with beef-sourced gelatin

By Douglas Yu contact

- Last updated on GMT

Altoids is one of Wrigley's brands that contains beef-derived gelatin.  Photo: Schyler
Altoids is one of Wrigley's brands that contains beef-derived gelatin. Photo: Schyler

Related tags: Gelatin, Wrigley, Us food and drug administration

Hindu statesman Rajan Zed says upset Hindus in the US are seeking “official apology” from the president of Wrigley for non-disclosure of beef in some of its candy products.

Zed, who is the president of Universal Society of Hinduism, said consumption of beef is highly conflicting to Hindu beliefs. “Cow, the seat of many deities, is sacred and has long been venerated in Hinduism,”​ he said.

The incident came one week after the Hindu organization found out that Kellogg’s cereals contain beef, this site’s sister publication, BakeryandSnacks​, previously reported.

Beef-containing candies

Silva Moctezuma of Wrigley customer service wrote in an email that all Starburst Fruit Chews contain gelatin that is derived from beef. She also added that some other products sold in the US contain gelatin coming from a mix of beef and pork, including Altoids mints, Life Savers gummies, and all Starburst GummieBursts.

“Some of our products contain gelatin, which will be listed in the ingredient panel. The source of the gelatin, however, is not listed,”​ she wrote.

Zed said: “It was a very serious issue for the devotees and would severely hurt their feelings when they would come to know that they were unknowingly eating beef-laced popular candies, gums and confections.”​ 

He suggested that the gum producer should “admit their error of not being transparent enough to mention in clear and simple terms what was inside the box and package so that an ordinary consumer could make right and appropriate choices.”

ConfectioneryNews has reached out to Wrigley for a comment.

‘Truthful’ food labels

Anne Norris, spokesperson from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), said regulations require that when gelatin is used as a food ingredient, it must be declared as an ingredient on the product label.

However, “FDA regulations do not require manufacturers to declare the source of the gelatin,”​ she added. “As always, food labels must be truthful and not misleading.”

Related topics: Manufacturers, Candy, Gum, Mars, Ingredients

Related news

Related products

show more

Let’s create your next special chocolate moment

Let’s create your next special chocolate moment

AAK - the first choice for value-adding vegetable oil solutions | 18-Jan-2019 | Product Brochure

The premium chocolate market is forecasted to grow three times faster than the standard chocolate segment. In addition, consumers are increasingly focused...

Matrix Particle Technology for longer lasting gum

Matrix Particle Technology for longer lasting gum

TasteTech Encapsulation Solutions | 08-Oct-2018 | Application Note

In this study TasteTech investigate the effectiveness of encapsulation technology on the optimisation of taste perception within chewing gum.
It...

Accelerate your supply chain as pressures intensify

Accelerate your supply chain as pressures intensify

William Reed | 01-Oct-2018 | Technical / White Paper

Food, Drink and Non-Food manufacturers are under pressure. Range reviews, massive retail mergers, the backlash against plastic packaging and the ongoing...

Related suppliers