Bazooka Candy Brands' President Jacobs named Chair of NCA Board of Trustees

By Anthony Myers

- Last updated on GMT

Tony Jacobs named as new Chair of the NCA's Board of Trustees. Pic: NCA
Tony Jacobs named as new Chair of the NCA's Board of Trustees. Pic: NCA

Related tags Nca Candy Confectionery SOTIC 2023

The National Confectioners Association (NCA) unveiled Tony Jacobs, President of Bazooka Candy Brands, as Chair of the NCA Board of Trustees at its recent State of the Industry Conference in Miami.

Jacobs will serve a two-year term and most recently served as Vice Chair and will take over for departing NCA Board Chair Barry Rosenbaum, President of Nassau Candy Distributors.

“Tony’s keen understanding of policy and politics, and his knowledge of the industry make him an incredibly effective thought leader for our industry,” said John Downs, NCA president and CEO.

Jacobs served as the association’s political action committee chair and was instrumental in building an effective and successful CandyPAC. Prior to leading Bazooka Candy Brands, Jacobs worked for more than a decade in marketing roles at Nabisco, Unilever and Dr Pepper Snapple Group. A native of New Jersey, Jacobs earned his B.A. in political science from The George Washington University and an M.B.A. from The Darden Graduate School of Business Administration at the University of Virginia.

“I am honoured to take on this role to advocate on behalf of hundreds of confectionery companies and the nearly 58,000 American workers they employ,” Jacobssaid. “In a challenging environment, our industry remains strong and vibrant as consumers, now more than ever, want treats in their lives. I look forward to working with the NCA membership and staff to ensure the continued strength of this cherished industry.”

NCA also announced additional appointments to its Board of Trustees including Jerry Hagedorn, Executive Vice President of Barry Callebaut, who will serve as Vice Chair of the NCA Board. Five industry representatives will join the Board, including:

  • Carrie Abbott, Newfangled Confections
  • John Kretchmer, American Licorice Company
  • Rob Nelson, Elmer Chocolate
  • Stephanie Stuckey, Stuckey’s
  • Steve Gohde, The Allan Sullivan Company

Related news

Show more